setrworker.blogg.se

Beatrix name meaning
Beatrix name meaning





beatrix name meaning beatrix name meaning

Wells, for example: Bix and Wells is terrific, but the style gap between Beatrix and Wells makes it sound like a sister/brother pair. Some of the names on your list seem to me to be good matches for the name Bix or for the name Aviatrix, but not as good with the name Beatrix. (I read a book long ago that used Chess as a nickname for Francesca I liked that while I was reading the book, but when I was talking about it to someone else, they thought I said “Chest” and that ruined it for me.) Other favorites of mine, but with nicknames not as distinctive as Bix: Winifred/Freddie and Frances/Frankie (or Francesca/Frankie).

beatrix name meaning

I like the way those parallel your first child’s name: a familiar but not overused first name with an unexpected cool nickname. I’ve also seen Jet used as a nickname for Juliet(te). I just recently read Practical Magic, in which one of the aunts is named Bridget, called Jet. So, can you help us? Any cool/unusual nicknames you can think of or obvious nature/word/lady-adventurer names I’m missing? We’d appreciate anything you can come up with. This was one of the reasons Bix didn’t end up a Hazel, b/c the name just seemed to explode in popularity. I like Juniper a lot, but I already know/know of 3 little Junipers just in my circle. The only name we agreed solidly upon so far is Juniper, mainly b/c she doesn’t love coming up with names and basically just wants veto power (which I’m fine with, she’s doing the hard work of growing the kid!). We also like but can’t use Clementine, Ramona or Audre. Ticks all my buttons, but she’s not sold. The wife has unfortunately nixed my favorite, Wells it’s nature/word name, badass female author name, kinda unisex, etc. Also considered Aurelia to get to Goldie)īess (kind of an oblique honor name for several Elizabeth in our lives)Īstra/Estrella (her fetus name is Twinkle, so the wife likes star names) We’ve also considered and nixed Paloma, Columba, Sparrow and Wren to get to Birdie) We’re very nicknamey people, and I love a longer name with an unusual nn, preferably those kicky early 20th century-ish ones, like Kit/Birdie/Goldie, or something else that sounds like she’s a character in the Great Gatsby or maybe a wild west show? I also love a nature name and/or a word name and/or a very unusual name (hence my trying to make Aviatrix happen.) I’m okay with explaining a name – I thought Beatrix was safe, but I have to say “No, Beatrix, with an x” or “No, Bixie, like Dixie with a b” almost every time she introduces herself.Įilish (AY-lish, not EYE-lish, nn Ailey, like the dance company!)Īvis (Mostly just to get to nn Birdie, but I don’t hate it as a name. The thing that sold me on Beatrix was the nickname Bix. Like, is there just a name I haven’t seen/thought of yet that’s perfect, or am I overthinking? As a refresher, our last name sounds like muh-HALF-fee, and the kid will have my wife’s maiden name as a second middle, so sounding like First Middle MAC-irish muh-HALF-fee. I’m falling prey to all the second baby how-to-live-up-to-the-first’s-name problems, and I know that it’s because Beatrix is now a person and not just a name, but I just keep feeling like I haven’t found IT yet, despite my endless research. Hello! You helped us name our first baby (Beatrix Dare, nn Bix/Bixie, for whom we considered the name Aviatrix until y’all talked us out of it) and we’re back again for help with her sister, due in December.







Beatrix name meaning